Day 29 Burnout

It’s the second-to-last day of National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo), and I have 6,244 words left before I hit 50,000.

As you may have seen in my previous post, I’m quite the procrastinator. I spent part of today changing the blog’s theme to a Christmas one and sifting through the settings and other unimportant things. I’m allowing myself to peruse the NaNo Forums and chat with other people who are also behind (and some who’ve hit the quarter-million mark: 250,000 words. How and why.) I feel the exhaustion slipping in, even as I can see the finish line, others in my NaNoWriMo Malaysia Facebook group posting their winner’s certificates, my wordcount chart climb steadily higher.

My OA goal (what those quarter-million people call an “over-acheiver goal”) is to finish some time before 10:00 pm tomorrow night. I want to finish NaNo without having to stay up late, racing the clock to stick my nose just over 50k and then collapse in a heap. I want some time to celebrate and go to bed at a reasonable hour after having finished some homework. Meanwhile, I’m over here blogging on a blog with 2 followers–two random people who have probably followed me because they want me to follow back. One guy writes really hipster poetry, and the other is a blog co-run by these two writers who like SciFi a lot. Shout out to you both if you’re reading this! You’re both pretty cool!

Anyways… I don’t know where I’m going, what I’m doing, or even how I’m going to get there. Right now, my novel is kind of a vague outline with my poor, poor main character, Lucan, being drowned in terrible, angsty inner monologues. He thinks to much. He’s a boy on the cusp of manhood like every other fantasy hero, for goodness’ sake! He doesn’t have that much inner turmoil! At least I have an exciting kidnapping scene coming up. That should be fun, I guess.

In summary, I’m feeling a little burnt out. I want to be done with NaNo, but I also want this glorious t-shirt with a dragon on it:

So with that, I guess I should be off to write. If you hear from me between now and the end of November, please tell me to shut up and write! I need to win! 😀

I love to talk! Leave me a comment and I guarantee an enthusiastic reply!

