NaNo Update: Nearly 20k Words in!

It’s 10 days into November, and not only am I on track, I’m actually ahead!

I can’t recall a single NaNo that I have ever managed to remain caught up and in fact be ahead at this point in the journey. If you’re curious about how previous NaNos have gone, here’s last year’s graph outlining the chaos:

glass princess stats INSPIRE

I stayed behind on word count from day 2 and wrote 10k words in three days to catch up at the end…

Without words, this graph expresses the insanity that was the last three days of NaNo! I’d pretty much given up by day 20 (you can see where I went days without writing anything) and managed to pull through just in the nick of time.

Here’s my graph for today (so far):

in progress nano 2015

So far I’ve fallen behind twice (by a measly few hundred words or so.) YAY!

I’m so, so excited! This is my busiest, craziest November ever, and somehow I’m managing to write faster than ever! It’s only going to go downhill from here, I think, because this year I’m rebelling–I’ve just started a second, brand-new project that’s turning out really, really awesome. So far I’ve written 8k of it in just a few days, so I have a feeling it’ll boost my word count significantly. My goal by the end of today (which is a convenient school holiday!) is 20k, so on to more word wars and sprints!

If you’re doing NaNoWriMo, how are you doing this year? Is it going better than you’d hoped, or has NaNo eaten your soul? 🙂 Keep going, even if you’re not winning! Every word you write is one more that you wouldn’t have without NaNo. I know you can do it!

Psst! You can find me on the NaNo website under the username NightWings. Feel free to add me as a buddy!

One thought on “NaNo Update: Nearly 20k Words in!

  1. My NaNo history is the opposite of yours! The first two times I did it I got ahead early on, but this year I’m lagging behind. I do have a much better grasp of where my story’s going now, and at least I’ve fulfilled the main goal of NaNo–to at least write something.

    Like

I love to talk! Leave me a comment and I guarantee an enthusiastic reply!

